Metzger Awarded Rossi Prize

February 12, 2019

The 2019 Rossi Prize of the AAS was awarded to Columbia Astrophysicist Brian Metzger and Daniel Kasen of the University of California at Berkeley for their theoretical predictions of electromagnetic emission from radioactive nuclei produced in neutron star mergers. The Rossi Prize is awarded for a significant contribution to high-energy astrophysics, with particular emphasis on recent, original work. The prize is in honor of Professor Bruno Rossi, an authority on cosmic ray physics and a pioneer in the field of X-ray astronomy. More information can be found here.

More News »