Columbia Astronomy Students Awarded Fellowships

April 23, 2017

We are very pleased to announce that three Columbia Astronomy students were awarded the prestigious NSF Graduate Research Fellowships. Winners were second-year graduate students Kirsten Blancato, Nicole Melso, as well as senior undergraduate Erin Flowers. An additional three undergraduate students were awarded Honorable Mentions: Kaitlyn Loftus, Amanda Quirk, and Shreyas Vissapragada. Congratulations to all of these students for these awards, which "recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering disciplines.” In addition, undergraduate student Amy Secunda, has been awarded a “Helen Fellowship”, which will give her the opportunity to spend a year immersed in teaching and research at the American Museum of Natural History in New York working with AMNH Curator Mordecai Mac Low.

More News »